1. Sign our petition calling on Cochrane to withdraw their review of Exercise Therapy for CFS here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, the 'News in Brief' for the week beginning 8th April 2024 is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome! To read the Core Purpose and Values of our forum, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

Video, Emerge Symposium 2019: Dr Paul Fisher, Specific Mitochondrial Respiratory Defects & Compensatory Changes in ME/CFS Patient Cells

Discussion in 'ME/CFS research' started by Andy, Apr 20, 2019.

1. Andy

Andy Committee Member

2. Trish

Trish Moderator Staff Member

I finally got around to watching this lecture. I found it absolutely fascinating. I'm no expert, but his findings look really important. And he's continuing the work.

My lay interpretation is that the mitochondria themselves are normal in quantity, but that one in the series of structures needed to work in sequence to produce ATP (Complex five) is not working efficiently.

At rest this is overcome by having lots more of the structures in the mitochondrial membrane needed for the process, including more complex V's so enough ATP can be produced to meet energy demands, but if the cell is put under stress and needs to produce more energy, it can't increase its mitochondrial activity to produce more ATP like a normal cell could. It's incredibly complicated, and they don't know why this is happening, but they are continuing researching different aspects trying to figure this out.

His team used lots of methods including the seahorse analyser and proteomics. He's been a mitochondria expert for a long time, so has a lot of knowledge about what he's doing. Some of the slides during the presentation were hidden because it's not published yet.

3. lansbergen

lansbergen Senior Member (Voting Rights)

I would say, avoid stressers as much as possible.

4. Trish

Um, why? I can't immediately see any connection with the video...

5. lansbergen