1. Sign our petition calling on Cochrane to withdraw their review of Exercise Therapy for CFS here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, the 'News in Brief' for the week beginning 15th April 2024 is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome! To read the Core Purpose and Values of our forum, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

BBC trust me I’m a doctor tests a placebo for back pain and sees significant results

Discussion in 'Other health news and research' started by Cinders66, Oct 4, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Cinders66

Cinders66 Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Can my brain cure my back pain? http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-45721670

Not sure what to think of this, is it good it can prove the placebo effect or bad drs will think that a common, debilitating, unexplained often condition involving pain can be helped by tricking the mind?

Rick Sanchez, Ravn, Barry and 9 others like this.
  2. John Mac

John Mac Senior Member (Voting Rights)

This bit confused me
    Wouldn't people who are more "open to new experiences" be more likely to fall for a con?

TiredSam, Ravn, andypants and 8 others like this.
  3. Jonathan Edwards

Jonathan Edwards Senior Member (Voting Rights)

I haven't looked at this in detail but it sounds as if the study was illegal - giving people placebos without them knowing it. That is not full informed consent. You can probably be sent to prison for that! Or at least dismissed from your job for misconduct.

4. Jonathan Edwards

Jonathan Edwards Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Looking more closely it seems that people were told they might get a placebo but they were not told the objective of the study or that everyone was going to get a placebo. That sounds equally illegal.

5. chrisb

chrisb Senior Member (Voting Rights)

They clearly cannot have read Wessely's book upon clinical trials then.

TiredSam, Rick Sanchez, Ravn and 11 others like this.
  6. Squeezy

Squeezy Senior Member (Voting Rights)