"I thought I should always be positive with my patients – until I found out how damaging that can be", article by palliative care doctor

Discussion in 'Other health news and research' started by Andy, Jun 19, 2023.

1. Andy

Andy Committee Member

"In my early years as a doctor, I thought it was my role to be positive, sometimes overly positive, with patients and their next of kin, reassuring them of a low likelihood of my worst suspicions being confirmed. Yet I started to find myself regretting what I had said, especially when a hunch became a reality. “I wish you’d told us this might happen so we could prepare,” was one of the comments that would come back."

"There is a lot of pressure to be positive these days. Some people even regard it as a form of wellness treatment in itself and warn of the potential dangers of “allowing negativity into their lives”. But such enforced optimism ignores the realities of our existence. Some patients seem to think negativity will shorten their lives. But researchers in different studies have tested the hypothesis that optimism can impact survival in cancer patients and have found that it does not have an impact. In one of these studies, there was a suggestion that encouraging patients to be positive perhaps even represents an additional burden.

Whether you have terminal cancer or not, believing everything must stay positive just isn’t sustainable. It needs to be balanced with realism. An expectation that outcomes will and must always conclude well can in itself create disappointment and anxiety – because, at some level, we know that we cannot guarantee those wishes will come true."

More at https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2023/jun/19/positive-patients-damaging-upbeat-honesty

Arnie Pye, Michelle, Sid and 30 others like this.
  2. Arnie Pye

Arnie Pye Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Relentless positivity is as bad as relentless negativity, in any context. What I want from doctors is honesty, not something fake.