1. Sign our petition calling on Cochrane to withdraw their review of Exercise Therapy for CFS here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, the 'News in Brief' for the week beginning 15th April 2024 is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome! To read the Core Purpose and Values of our forum, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

David Tuller: Trial By Error: My Letter to MP Monaghan About BMJ Studies

Discussion in 'General ME/CFS news' started by Kalliope, Jun 5, 2018.

1. Kalliope

Kalliope Senior Member (Voting Rights)

My Letter to MP Monaghan About BMJ Studies

This morning, I sent an e-mail about BMJ to Scottish National Party MP Carol Monaghan. MP Monaghan, a science teacher by profession, has a keen interest in research accountability as well as in the plight of ME/CFS patients. In February, she organized a hearing in the House of Commons on the flaws of the PACE trial. During that event, she referred to PACE as “one of the biggest medical scandals of the 21st century”—an undoubtedly accurate assessment even though the century still has a long way to go. In March, I posted a Q-and-A with her on Virology Blog.

In today’s e-mail to MP Monaghan, posted below, I alerted her to BMJ’s apparently casual approach toward violations of scientific principles in high-impact studies on children. As with the NICE e-mail, I cc’d Fiona Godlee.

TiredSam, Skycloud, sea and 29 others like this.
  2. Luther Blissett

Luther Blissett Senior Member (Voting Rights)

@dave30th

Third para typo: "So has Fiona Godlee, editor in child of The BMJ and editorial director at BMJ Company."

Good letter. I hope Dr Brown is not run over by a glacier before he can finish his investigation.

TiredSam, Skycloud, Forbin and 9 others like this.
  3. Webdog

Webdog Senior Member (Voting Rights)

One (two?) of the biggest pediatric medical scandals of the 21st century?

4. dave30th

dave30th Senior Member (Voting Rights)