1. Sign our petition calling on Cochrane to withdraw their review of Exercise Therapy for CFS here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, the 'News in Brief' for the week beginning 18th March 2024 is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome! To read the Core Purpose and Values of our forum, click here.
    Dismiss Notice

As a psychologist I see the fantasy of neoliberal values having a devastating effect on mental healt

Discussion in 'Other psychosomatic news and research' started by Hoopoe, Nov 4, 2017.

1. Hoopoe

Hoopoe Senior Member (Voting Rights)

2. Andy

Andy Committee Member

Good piece with a lot of parallels to the challenges so many of us will face
    Also

3. Estherbot

Estherbot Senior Member (Voting Rights)

*The author Jay Watts has been a friend of PWME. She a consultant clinical psychologist and psychotherapist, and honorary senior research fellow at Queen Mary, University of London.

*She was one fo the Health Professionals who wrote to Prime Minister Theresa May criticising Simon Wessely's appointment to review the Mental Health Act.

https://www.thecanary.co/discovery/...-controversial-new-mental-health-guru-letter/

4. Esther12

Esther12 Senior Member (Voting Rights)

I thought this was a good piece. Great to have Watts speaking out on issues like this, and in the Wessely letter. A good 'un?

5. Estherbot

Estherbot Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Little Bluestem, Amw66, Joh and 7 others like this.
  6. Inara

Inara Senior Member (Voting Rights)

Wow, critisism on neoliberal ideology, in the Independent and here.

I think I start to love this place more and more.

Feels so good to read it, thank you. I only wish more and more people would understand.